The Biker Coverall

One of the things I love about being able to make my own or my children’s clothing is the ability to create looks that you cannot find on the high street either through my use of incredibly creative and striking fabric prints or very unique sewing patterns, sometimes, I like to go all out and do both and the results are truly awesome!   My Biker Coverall is one such example!

MW Patterns is very much a new to me pattern company.  I will be honest, I was a little nervous about purchasing their Biker Coverall pattern not least because I would consider it to be at the high end in terms of pattern pricing costing a little over £18 ( I have since discovered that their Facebook group runs occasional discount days and special offers which would help reduce the cost).  I had a nightmare setting up an account on their website (I actually didn’t even purchase through the website in the end but rather through their Etsy store), which also made me nervous about purchasing.  I finally made the decision to purchase when I received some epic fabric from Llfab UK (‘Glass Houses’ available to preorder on their website until 11th July) and decided it needed something super special to show it off.

187-home_default

Llfab UK sent me one of their amazing child sized panels alongside the main print.  Llfab UK’s panels offer incredible value for money; they are a very generous size (child sized panels are 48.5 x 50cm) meaning they can be used as whole pattern pieces for many children’s garments – I’ve previously used them as whole leg pieces – they also have so much detail across the whole piece meaning every part of it is a usable piece of fabric.  As I wanted to use as much of the panel as possible and not ‘waste’ the detail I needed to find a garment for my youngest son (3) which would offer a ‘big’ area and this was another reason I chose the Biker Coverall.  With it’s asymmetric zip, one side of the coverall is significantly bigger than the other so it would work well with bigger prints or panels.  The coverall is not originally designed for panels and so I did have to make a modification but no trickier than cutting the left side pattern piece where my panel would finish and adding seam allowance (which you already have to do for all the pattern pieces anyway).  This was the only modification I made to the pattern pieces and once I’d sewn the two parts of my left side pieces together followed the tutorial.

 

I was very pleasantly surprised by the tutorial.  Firstly it was in English.  I regularly purchase and use European patterns and am very friendly with Google Translate so I was never put off by the fact MW Patterns is a Swedish company however to find the pattern was written in English was a real bonus.  The translation is, in general, very good, there’s the odd spelling or grammatical error but it is still very understandable and the picture tutorial which accompanies the written tutorial is very detailed and clear and supports understanding.

There are one or two additions I would make.  Step 2 talks about sewing the zip in carefully as stretched fabric can become overstretched, I often find when sewing in zips in fabric, especially ‘moving’ fabrics (i.e. fabrics that can stretch or distort), interfacing is important to stop it stretching or distorting.  I did add a 1 inch strip of lightweight interfacing to both front pieces where the zip was to be sewn in.  I would also like to see guidance on arm binding for the sleeveless variation mentioned at the end of the tutorial.  There is no mention of size or how to insert it which might be important for non-confident seamstresses.  For the length of my knit binding I usually work on 80% of the arm opening with seam allowance on either end (certain fabrics, like ribbing, need a slightly smaller percentage (75%), others may need slightly more). Width can vary according to the look you want – I inserted my arm binding in the same way I inserting my cuffs so I doubled my desired arm binding width as the piece was to be folded and added seam allowance to the top and bottom.  My width of my binding piece was 2 inches.

 

I was extremely pleased with my Biker Coverall.  I love the look and the inside was very neat and very professionally finished.  It fit’s my average size 3 year old well all over.

 

IMG_6522

 

I would have no hesitation in buying patterns from MW Patterns again.

Disclaimer:  I was not a pattern tester for this garment nor do I have an affiliation with the company or associated groups.  

Glass Houses is available to preorder from Llfab UK until 11th July and is available on cotton lycra, woven, brushed poly and minky bases, international shipping options and layaway is available. 

 

 

One thought on “The Biker Coverall

Leave a Reply

